Recipes

Cold Beef With Hot Garlic Sauce

Last week, my family and I had a bbq with the rest of our extended family and friends. It’s always interesting to introduce bbq to Chinese people for the first time, while me and my dad are cooking it as well.  I guess when they see two male handling large meat, they are in awe.

After everyone took their own leftover bag to go home with, I was left with my dad’s roast beef. In Sichuan cuisine, a meal may start with cold appetizers of fish, beef, vegetables, and chicken. This slice thin cold beef dish is what you may found on a table.

Recently, I purchased Fuchsia Dunlop’s Land of Plenty, a book on Sichuan cuisine. Her recipe of pork with hot garlic sauce inspired my dish. The more I continue to cook Chinese food, the more I research on Sichuan, because its part of who I am.

Standard

Leave a Reply

