Ingredients

Braised Chicken with Cashews

If I had to choose between chicken breast or thigh, I choose thigh meat. What can I say, I’m dark meat man!

Instead of using corn starch to thicken the sauce, I add diced potatoes for garnish as well as to thicken it. When you cook a potato in a liquid, their natural starch helps to thicken it, and sometimes using corn starch makes your mouth feel gummy.

Peanuts are a popular snack in Sichuan, whether boiled with spices, encrusted with flavorings, or simply deep-fried. And it is also used in the very popular dish, Kung Pao Chicken. I didn’t have peanuts, so I substitute it with cashews.

Standard

Leave a Reply

